An interview…. with me?

When I first said I was setting up this blog (and adopting Midnight Scripts as my name) one of my favourite people, Abbey, was straight in there like a journalist asking to be the first person to interview me as a writer. I’ve split her questions into four sections, the first of which is here and I am going to attempt to answer what she wanted to know the best I can!

So thank you to Abbey for being the inspiration behind this post.

Getting to know me….

What is your favourite past time?

Well writing aside, because you already know about that, I enjoy watching television dramas – especially British crime and medical dramas – and studying the varied techniques used by writers to convey different emotions to the screen. I also read very widely, fiction and non-fiction and spend a lot of time researching the world around me.

I love to travel, both near and far, and am also a fan of the cinema, shopping and spending time with my mentee. However I guess my favourite past time is to spend time exploring, be that a city or the countryside.

If you could change one thing about your career what would it be?

I work as a senior manager, working in a department that I really believe in and doing a job that I adore. I work long hours, I work hard and it isn’t always easy, but I wouldn’t change a thing about it. The fact that I got where I am despite dropping out of university means the world to me.

Have you ever met anyone famous?

I guess that depends on your definition of famous. I have met a number of actors and actresses over the years, and a few people who were on their way to being famous.

Who would you like to meet in the future?

I wouldn’t turn down an opportunity to meet the cast of several TV shows I love, nor to meet Emeli Sande, Lana Del Rey, Alicia Keys and Rihanna in person. However I would much prefer to meet the writers, directors, producers and other crew of Casualty if I could only choose one set of people.

What is your favourite place to go?

I love Devon and Cornwall, and will never get tired of visiting, yet despite that Cardiff is my place to run to because I feel very at home there. However having said that, after the experiences of the last week, Glasgow is also a contender. Outside of the UK, Iceland was beautiful and Yosemite National Park was as awe inspiring as the Grand Canyon was jaw dropping.

What are your strengths and weaknesses?

Strengths: I think I am a loyal friend, dependable, honest, passionate and opinionated.

Weakness: I lack confidence (although I can fake it), I talk too much and I love a good argument.

Be back here the same time tomorrow for part two!

Leave a comment